Ludington Ride

by inkwell2

sludington
My dreams lay halted
At half night’s calling,
Breathless he rides
Over dark thicket hills.

Handed this passage
In worn reins turning,
Bloodless my hands
Charge soldier’s lives bared.

Dread makes it way
A sullied neck burning,
Furlongs I climb
Gasping each harrowed bend.

Plundering foreign road
Tender mind weary,
Laud now my voice
Warning souls before light.

Scattered in slumber
Fastened eyes quicken,
Do heed my sound
I speak above place.

Danbury smolders
By golden crown’s shillings,
Death musters dawn
Unfurling false might.

Mere cipher nameless
A father’s prize nary,
One barters my hand
Two revered lest I see.

© 2013 by Jennifer M. Ortiz

To learn more about Sybil Ludington’s ride, go to:

http://www.nwhm.org/education-resources/biography/biographies/sibyl-ludington/

